Entrepreneur Of the Month : Kaydee Oruwariye C.E.O CandyLocks Virgin hair

20140901-022914.jpg


What’s sweeter than candy?, beauty, what’s one of our top notch beauty priorities as women ……..HAIR. Hair is a woman’s crowning glory . Hair can change a persons image TOTALLY! Good hair makes Big statements . Meet Kaydee , the brain behind CandyLocks Hair. One of the best virgin hairs in the market . Kaydee is young and by young we mean YOUNG! she is a combination of beauty and brains and that honestly is a tough combo to find nowadays. Let’s find out more about the beautiful brain behind CandyLocks Virgin Hair

Who is Kaydee ?
Lol, I always find such questions hard to answer.
I really don’t know how to describe myself.
I grew up surrounded by strong and hard working people in my family ,my grandma, my parents and my aunties. So I’ve had them to teach me how to be independent and fearless when it comes to following my dreams. I’ll say I’m weirdly shy but still very full of life when I’m comfortable. My brothers are my everything and most importantly I honestly believe that God always goes before me and makes everything work out for my good according to his plan .

How did it all begin, take us down memory lane?

Well, I’ve always been interested in hair and make up. Basically everything beauty, right from when I was little.
Selling hair started in my 2nd year of uni, this was 2012. my friend and I trying to buy hair for ourselves by making extra money from selling to our class mates in uni.
It was supposed to be just a one time thing, but we got so many requests and orders, so I spoke to my mum that summer and we went on researching for suppliers testing quality and all that. Then the brand name came up and it became serious.

How did you discover your love for hair
Somehow I’ve always taken care of my own hair myself, when I was much younger I’d tell my mum all the products I wanted and every Saturday I would wash and moisturise my hair myself before I went to the salon to braid it for the week. I always helped my friends with hair in high school, they would always ask me to help them choose hairstyles and help them style their hair.
When I discovered YouTube, I watched a million videos, I also watched a lot of documentaries about hair sourcing, temples in India and the likes. I just had so much interested that researching wasn’t even a task for me. I don’t know why but I was just really fascinated by everything I learned and I just became more passionate about hair.

Your products are like one of the hottest at the moment and the rave about candylocks hair is just everywhere. What would you say keeps you going

So far so good, I just thank God really! When you’re passionate about something it’s really not hard to work with it. I randomly write down my ideas and plans at odd times and odd places, that’s because I’m always thinking about candy locks, I’m constantly thinking ” how can We be better?” , “how can We grow?” , “how can We be the best ?” .
I know I still have a long way to go, I still have a lot of work but by Gods grace it’s all going well.

Quality Hair is the No1 in thing right now , it’s a woman’s crown , it can make her look from drag to fab , how do you source for your different types of hair and how good are your products.

I always try all my products personally and my friends always help me too, so I can get opinions from outside. Making sure that it’s as good as it can be.
I’d say our clients are always well impressed. This helps us gain their trust and loyalty, you know you’re getting your money’s worth.

Candylocks is a brand you nurtured , it’s your brain child , it’s your hobby , your sport but before hair is education. What is Kaydee’s original profession apart from being a beauty expert ?
Oh thank you, though I wouldn’t call myself a beauty expert.
I just graduated 2 months ago, I studied economics as my first degree. Along side candy locks I still want to get a masters degree next year and build my career in international business and management.

What inspired and is still inspiring you to make Candylocks a household brand.
I’d say my drive to make something for myself, and I know with determination and hard work I can capitalise on anything I’m TRULY passionate about.

20140901-025356.jpg

What’s your daily hair routine ?
I’m actually more fussy about my natural hair than I am about my hair extensions.
On a good day I wrap my hair in my silk scarf or bonnet when I’m going to bed, other times I just put in a bun before bed.
In the morning I brush through and style as I feel like. Sometimes I’ll curl it or wear my hair extensions in its natural state , which I mostly do.

Your packaging is by far one of the cutest I’ve seen. How did that come about
Thank you, last year I was randomly sketching in the library, and I was thinking about package ideas. It just popped up in my head , I bought some fabric and my friend and I brain stormed. After about an hour of cutting and sewing with our hands, we made a candy bag and it actually came out nice. I asked a few people what they thought and they loved it , so I thought why not?

Who is your hair/style inspiration both home and abroad
Currently I love Lilly ghalichi’s hair, kelis has also be donning big black curly hair, which is absolutely fabulous. Lala Anthony also , love her in her chestnut brown locks. Home, I’ve been loving tonto dikes hair , tiwa savage as well , love the shade of brown she wears often and toke makinwa rocks beautiful brown and blonde locks, love her hair.


Kaydee’s Hair Care advice;
Moisture is really important, and I don’t mean packing on serums or oils on your hair extensions.
Our hair is already very soft and lustrous, but a good co-wash with a deep moisturising conditioner and a blow dry always does your hair extensions magic. I love to let my hair air dry first, then I’d blow dry it after.

20140901-025403.jpg

***There is going to be a product review of candylocks hair on the blog soon. Stay tuned to find out more about candy locks hair***

2 thoughts on “Entrepreneur Of the Month : Kaydee Oruwariye C.E.O CandyLocks Virgin hair

  1. Hey there! I realize this is sort of off-topic however I needed to ask. Does managing a well-established website like yours take a massive amount work? I am brand new to writing a blog however I do write in my journal every day. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

Leave a Reply

